业务战略API,将您的业务迁移至平台

Executive Summary

数字转型采用 API 来简化各项模拟操作,从而改进客户体验。您是否正在采取超越渠道管理范畴的措施,以推进整个组织实现数字转型?本文介绍了四种方式来确定在哪些方面可以使用 API 有效简化您的流程。

Executive Summary

数字转型采用 API 来简化各项模拟操作,从而改进客户体验。您是否正在采取超越渠道管理范畴的措施,以推进整个组织实现数字转型?本文介绍了四种方式来确定在哪些方面可以使用 API 有效简化您的流程。

Related

如何在数字化转型中占据主导地位?

Related

客户抛弃您应用的 10 条原因

“Uber 作为全球规模最大的出租车公司,不拥有任何车辆。Facebook 作为全球最流行的媒体所有者,不创建任何内容。阿里巴巴作为最具价值的零售商,没有任何库存。Airbnb 作为全球最大的房屋租赁服务提供商,没有任何房地产。有趣的现象不断产生。”—Zenith 执行副总裁兼创新主管 Tom Goodwin,2015 年为 TechTarget 撰稿

多数人认为数字转换只是简单地从纸质迁移至数字,但是实际情况远非如此。数字转换还包括简化任何模拟操作,提升您的用户体验。一种方法是利用 API 允许客户进行直接控制,以前只有员工能访问这些控制。

例如,在 2012 年,美国零售商 Walgreens 创建了 Walgreens 照片打印应用,其本质是利用一系列 API,将劳动密集型的照片打印流程转化为近乎自助服务的流程。这款应用有助于降低打印照片所需的时间、成本和人力成本,缩短了客户等待的时间。API 鼓励第三方应用开发人员采用,他们将 Walgreens 集成至手机照片应用,使更多的新受众了解公司,扩大公司的市场份额。它还带来了线下收入:当客户进入商店取照片时,他们通常会购买其它产品。从那以后,Walgreen 利用 API 推出了更多的应用,如药店应用,使客户的生活更加便利。现在,该公司利用数字技术来提升店内体验。

API 将您的业务转变为平台

我们可以看出,API 不只是 Uber 和 Airbnb 的专利。几年前,企业无法想像他们未来会需要 APP,现在这些公司都成为了科技公司。他们利用 API 为客户提供更多的选择,而且还提升了速度并降低了成本,用户体验得到大幅改进。以 Walgreens 为例,自助服务所带来的成效有目共睹。

从何处着手?

由于大规模、彻底地转换和更换现有系统可能会对收入产生负面影响,建议您首先尝试小规模的试点计划,然后再根据情况进行扩展,这样更有助于实现成功。如果试点计划失败,也不会影响您的核心业务。其关键在于通过转化业务的方式对行业产生颠覆性的影响,而不会对自身造成负面影响。

适用于 API 的流程应有以下特征:

  1. 对公司或客户而言非常繁琐的手动流程
  2. 引起过多客户投诉的流程
  3. 能从简化步骤中受益,或通过将控制迁移至客户而优化的任何劳动密集型流程
  4. 您已经开始开发的项目,但是竞争对手上市速度更快,您需要尽快追赶

利用 API 简化流程

如欲实现由旧到新的转化,需要利用数字技术,加速业务活动、流程和模型,以克服挑战,充分把握机会。API 可帮助企业以更加简单的方式与客户和合作伙伴联系,减少了时间、任务和冲突。

注意不要对存在缺陷的现有流程进行数字化,其改善效果微乎其微。有些公司错误地围绕用户交互模型组织网站内容,模型反映了公司的结构和需求,而不是客户的需求。如果您利用 API 转变用户体验、改善用户生活,便能够从 API 中获得最大价值。改善用户体验,实现业务转型。

总结

  1. 通过将业务转换为平台,API 为合作伙伴和客户简化操作提供了可能,将带来更出色的用户体验。
  2. 切勿好高骛远。从小规模、低风险的试点项目开始。
  3. 请记住,目标不是利用 API 反映当前从上而下的流程和结构,而是改善客户体验,实现公司转型。

您可能还会喜欢

Business StrategyAPI. It’s the technology that can transform your business into a platform

Executive Summary

Businesses of all kinds that just a few years ago couldn’t have imagined why they’d ever need an app have become tech companies. They’re using APIs to provide their customers with more options, lower costs, and improved speed—in other words, dramatically better experiences. Are you taking advantage of APIs to drive digital transformation across your organization? This article shows four ways to identify areas where using an API could streamline your process.

Executive Summary

Businesses of all kinds that just a few years ago couldn’t have imagined why they’d ever need an app have become tech companies. They’re using APIs to provide their customers with more options, lower costs, and improved speed—in other words, dramatically better experiences. Are you taking advantage of APIs to drive digital transformation across your organization? This article shows four ways to identify areas where using an API could streamline your process.

“Uber, the world’s largest taxi company, owns no vehicles. Facebook, the world’s most popular media owner, creates no content. Alibaba, the most valuable retailer, has no inventory. And Airbnb, the world’s largest accommodation provider, owns no real estate. Something interesting is happening.” —Tom Goodwin, EVP and Head of Innovation at Zenith, writing for TechTarget in 2015

Most people think of digital transformation as simply moving from paper to digital—but it’s more than that. It’s also streamlining any analog operation in a way that improves your customer experience. One way is to use APIs to expose controls directly to your customers that had previously only been accessible to employees.

For example, in 2012, the American retailer Walgreens created the Walgreens Photo Print App, essentially a collection of APIs that transformed its labor-intensive photo printing process into a nearly self-service process. The app reduced the time, cost, and employee involvement necessary to print photos, and it lessened customer wait times. The APIs encouraged adoption by third-party app developers, who integrated Walgreens into their mobile photo apps, and thus gave the company more exposure to a new audience and increased its market share. It also generated offline revenue: when customers came into the store to pick up their photos, they often made additional purchases. Since then, Walgreens has used APIs to introduce more apps—such as its pharmacy app—to make its customers’ lives more convenient. The company is using digital technology to transform its in-store experiences.

Related

How to put yourself in the driver’s seat of digital transformation

5 min. read

APIs turn your business into a platform

As we’ve seen, APIs aren’t just for Uber and Airbnb. Businesses of all kinds that just a few years ago couldn’t have imagined why they’d ever need an app have become tech companies. They’re using APIs to provide their customers with more options, lower costs, and improved speed—in other words, dramatically better experiences. In the case of Walgreens, self-service became better service.

Where do you start?

Before embarking on a complete, wholesale rip-and-replacement of existing systems that may negatively impact revenue before it has a chance to succeed, try smaller pilot programs first. If they fail, they won’t affect your company’s core business. The key is to transform your business and become a disruptive force in your industry without negatively disrupting yourself.

How do you identify which processes to enable with APIs? Look for some of these markers:

  1. A manual process that is cumbersome for the company or your customers
  2. A process that generates an inordinate number of customer complaints
  3. Any labor-intensive process that could benefit from reduced steps, or better yet, by shifting control to your customers
  4. Something you were already developing that a competitor gets to market with faster, and you need to catch up quickly
The State of Application Delivery in 2017

The State of Application Delivery in 2017

Use the API to streamline your processes

Changes from old ways to new should leverage digital technologies to accelerate business activities, processes, and models to address challenges and maximize opportunities. The API economy gives a business an opportunity to connect with customers and partners in a streamlined way, reducing time, tasks, and friction.

Just be careful not to digitize existing, flawed processes that result in few, if any, improvements. Some companies make the mistake of organizing their site content around user interaction models that mirror their company’s structure—and needs—rather than the needs of their customers. You’ll get maximum value out of APIs if you use them to transform your customer experience and make the lives of your customers better. Transform your customer experience and you’ll transform your company.

Related

9 reasons why customers are deserting your apps

5 min. read

Summary

  1. By turning your business into a platform, APIs open the door for partners and customers to streamline your operations, leading to better customer experiences.
  2. Don’t try to “boil the ocean.” Start with a pilot program—something small and low-risk.
  3. Remember, the goal is not to use APIs to mirror your current top-down processes and structure. The goal is to transform your company by transforming your customer experiences.

You Might Also Like

Business Strategy · 5 min. read

Is the cloud an enabler or a disruptor of your digital transformation?

The cloud offers lots of benefits to employees and consumers, but lots of headaches for IT architects. When it comes to evaluating the impact that cloud will have on your digital transformation, there’s no easy explanation. The answer mostly depends on whom you ask.

Business Strategy · 5 min. read

The ROI of moving to the cloud: Have you balanced your cloud checkbook?

There’s potentially a gulf of pain between using cloud services and successfully using cloud services. How will you know if you’re being successful? You need the metrics that match your priorities: agility, TCO, reach and productivity.