四大云盲点

Executive Summary

在云提供的敏捷性、效率和生产力优势的掩盖之下,很多 CIO 都忽略了隐藏在明处的四个危险因素。了解您在云中面临的风险不仅能帮助您避免云存在的劣势并获得云提供的优势,还可为您的应用提供三项额外好处:更快的上市速度、更好的性能和更全面的安全性。

Executive Summary

在云提供的敏捷性、效率和生产力优势的掩盖之下,很多 CIO 都忽略了隐藏在明处的四个危险因素。了解您在云中面临的风险不仅能帮助您避免云存在的劣势并获得云提供的优势,还可为您的应用提供三项额外好处:更快的上市速度、更好的性能和更全面的安全性。

我们知道,人开车时会有盲点;同样,在将应用迁移到云端时也会存在盲点。由于被云服务所带来的出色的灵活性、可减少资本支出、提升效率和生产力等特点所吸引,很多首席信息官忽视了显而易见的四大危险。

盲点 1:公有云中的安全风险由大家共同承担

采用公有云(也被称为基础设施即服务,IaaS)其实与买下一栋联排别墅非常像,因为无论是 IaaS 还是联排别墅都不得不共同承担基础设施和服务的安全风险。对于联排别墅,小区物业负责所有外部事务—环境美化、下水道、人行道等等;每个业主负责所有内部事务—家具、灯具和取暖等等。

同样,在公有云中,云服务商为应用提供基本的“外部”基础设施,如物理服务器和客户操作系统—而你负责处理应用本身的“内部”事务以及技术或工具支持。

Related

为什么 NETFLIX 采用基于云的微服务并取得成功

知道谁应该负责什么至关重要,因为安全在任何层面都有可能受到威胁。Amazon Web Services (AWS) 的主管曾说过让他夜不能寐的事情不是 AWS 环境本身(外部)的安全,而是“客户没有正确地配置其应用来确保自身的安全”(内部)。如果你计划将类似支付业务这样的核心应用部署到公有云环境之中,你需要问一问你的云服务商,在其云应用商店中有哪些产品可协助保护你的应用。

62%

的决策者承认在技术层面上缺乏了解,或者预计在两年内仍会存在这种差距。

盲点 2:厂商锁定

乐观的云支持者早就幻想让应用在云平台之间自由移动。这是一个美好的梦想,但梦终究是梦。将应用从特定的云环境中脱离出来并非易事。借助不同的 API、管理控制台和其他服务,每个云平台都拥有多种方法将你的应用牢牢绑定。

在迁移至云环境之前,思考是否可以管理和在操作上集成现有服务和系统来缓解锁定的风险。

Related

为何您的安全预算或许会浪费在错误的威胁上

盲点 3:掌握云技术的人才仍然稀缺

你还需要考虑谁来落地你的云方案,几乎一半 (44%) 将应用部署到云端的企业不得不招聘了解云技术的新员工。Global Knowledge 对超过 10,000 名 IT 专业人员的调查发现,62% 的 IT 决策者在技术层面上缺乏了解或者预计在接下来两年内仍会存在这种差距。

这会大幅延迟企业级应用的发布时间。你的 IT 决策者需要彻底了解你选择的云服务商的 API 和管控台以及提供商特定的管理流程。引入不熟悉的工具和流程可能导致计划推迟、增加运营成本以及影响应用开发人员的工作效率和士气。这就是为何在选择云服务商之前,你应该先评估运维人员的能力,以及就业市场中是否能够招聘到可用人才的原因,确保你的团队具有足够的技术能力来部署云服务商的标准运维方法和流程。

即使其他各方面运转有序,但是如果你没有人才来实施云应用和负责运营,那么你注定将走向失败。

Demystifying the Threat Landscape

盲点 4:公有云可能不适合工业物联网 (IIoT)

尽管新颖的小工具仍然是物联网的热门话题,大多数企业的实际增长潜力仍然是所谓的工业物联网 (IIoT)。由于科技水平的提升有机会实现监控自动化,很多企业看到了这项技术所蕴藏在各行各业的巨大机会。但是实施这项技术的前提是要求有很高的可靠性和性能,而在早期尝试过的人发现这并不在公有云的功能范围内。

Related

云迁移先锋们的五大经验教训

尽管公有云可为工业物联网提供关键的安全性、合规性、隐私功能和性能,但是大量的行业巨头仍表示缺乏对潜在威胁的防护和可靠性方面的支持

在选择任何云服务商之前,请仔细考量你项目所需的响应时间、可靠性和数据安全等环节。任何情况下,中途更改你的云计划都是代价高昂的,而开发用来处理像工业物联网这种颠覆性技术的应用的时候,更改的风险将会更大。

无论是将应用留在本地还是迁移到云端,首席信息官在知道了这些盲点后才能做出更周全的决定。

安全第一

如果你消除了上述四个常见盲点,你将拥有更加成功的云之旅。因为你将更了解需承担的安全责任,也将避免与云服务商的绑定,并明确所需的 IT 人才,最终将有能力部署尖端的工业物联网应用。

文章所述将帮助你将品质更高、更安全的应用更快地推向市场。

您可能还会喜欢

Cloud4 things to watch for in your cloud blind spots

Executive Summary

The cloud's inherent agility, efficiencies and productivity gains distract many CIOs from four "blind spots" they need to head off before they become a problem. But that's not the only reason to understand these risks. They can also deliver three additional benefits for your apps: faster time to market, better performance, and comprehensive security.

Executive Summary

The cloud's inherent agility, efficiencies and productivity gains distract many CIOs from four "blind spots" they need to head off before they become a problem. But that's not the only reason to understand these risks. They can also deliver three additional benefits for your apps: faster time to market, better performance, and comprehensive security.

Just as you need to be aware of blind spots when you drive your car, you also need to check for blind spots as you move your company to the cloud. Dazzled by the agility, capital expenditure reductions, efficiencies, and productivity gains the cloud offers, many chief information officers miss four dangers that are hidden in plain sight.

Blind Spot No. 1: Security in the public cloud is a shared responsibility

Adopting a public cloud (also known as Infrastructure as a Service, or IaaS) is a lot like renting a flat. Both IaaS and apartments require that you share responsibility for infrastructure and services. For flats, the property owner is responsible for everything outside—landscaping, sewers, and sidewalks. Individual renters are often responsible for everything inside—furniture, fixtures, heat, and hot water.

Likewise, in the public cloud, vendors provide basic infrastructure for the “outside” of your app—such as physical servers and guest operating systems—while you handle the “inside” of the app itself and whatever technologies or tools support it.

Related

Why Netflix bet—and won—on cloud-based microservices

8 min. read

Knowing who is responsible for what is critical because security can be compromised at either level. The head of global security programs at Amazon Web Services (AWS) once said that the thing that keeps him up at night is not the security of the AWS environment itself (the outside), but “the customer not configuring their applications correctly to keep themselves secure” (the inside). If you plan to integrate an application component like payment processing to your mix, you’ll want to ask your cloud vendor what options exist in the broader ecosystem to assist in protecting your applications.

44%

Forty-four percent of cloud-committed companies have had to hire new workers

Blind Spot No. 2: Be careful to avoid vendor lock-in

Dreamy-eyed cloud proponents have long envisioned a world in which apps freely move from cloud to cloud. That’s a nice dream, but a dream nonetheless. It isn’t easy to extricate an app from a specific cloud environment. With distinct APIs, consoles, and services, each cloud has multiple “hooks” into your app, making it difficult for you to migrate elsewhere or to implement a failover plan when necessary.

Before committing to a cloud environment, ask whether it’s possible to manage and operationally integrate with existing services and systems to mitigate the risk of lock-in.

Related

Why your security budget may be focused on the wrong threats

5 min. read

Blind Spot No. 3: Cloud talent remains elusive

You also need to consider who will support your cloud initiatives. Almost half (44 percent) of companies that are committed to the cloud have had to hire new workers who understand the technology.

This can significantly delay time to market of your enterprise apps. Your IT decision makers will need to thoroughly understand the APIs and consoles of the cloud provider you choose, as well as provider-specific management processes. Introducing unfamiliar tools and processes can cause delays, increase operating costs, and negatively impact app developer productivity and morale. That’s why, before you select a cloud provider, you should evaluate your current in-house skills as well as the availability of talent in the open employment market. Make sure your team has the skills necessary to handle your provider’s operational methods and processes.

You can do everything else right, but if you don’t have the human skills to power your cloud apps and ops efforts, you’re heading for a crash.

Demystifying the threat landscape

Demystifying the Threat Landscape

Blind Spot No. 4: The public cloud may not be suitable for Industrial Internet of Things

While glitzy gadgets remain the topic of discussion when it comes to the Internet of Things (IoT), the real growth potential for most organizations remains in what is being called the Industrial Internet of Things (IIoT). Enterprises across a wide variety of industries see the opportunity inherent in automating a significant selection of monitoring duties to shift responsibility from people to technology. Doing so, however, requires a high degree of reliability and performance that early adopters are discovering is not the purview of public cloud.

Related

5 key learnings of those who ventured into the cloud

8 min. read

While the public cloud can provide the critical security, compliance, privacy, and performance for IIoT, numerous leading enterprises have found it wanting in terms of latency and reliability.

Carefully consider the response times, reliability requirements, and data security needs of your project before committing to any cloud provider. Changing clouds in midstream is costly under any scenario, and the risk of change is greater when developing apps that deal with transformational technology like IIoT.

Like skillful drivers, CIOs will have more success knowing what’s in their blind spots.

Stay safe

As you travel to the cloud you’ll have a more successful journey if you eliminate the four common blind spots mentioned above. You’ll understand your responsibility for security. You’ll avoid vendor lock-in. You’ll have the IT talent you need. And you’ll be able to deploy leading-edge IIoT applications.

All this will help you bring better-performing and more-secure apps to market a lot faster.

Mike Convertino is F5 Networks’ first Chief Information Security Officer (CISO). Convertino brings to F5 nearly 30 years of experience in providing enterprise-level information security, cloud-grade information systems solutions, and advanced cyber capability development. His professional experience spans security leadership and product development at a wide array of organizations including the U.S. government, Fortune 500 companies, and security start-ups.

You Might Also Like

Business Strategy · 5 min. read

Is the cloud an enabler or a disruptor of your digital transformation?

The cloud offers lots of benefits to employees and consumers, but lots of headaches for IT architects. When it comes to evaluating the impact that cloud will have on your digital transformation, there’s no easy explanation. The answer mostly depends on whom you ask.

Business Strategy · 5 min. read

Why moving to the cloud may not save as much as you think

If one of your motivations for moving to the cloud is to save on CapEx, be prepared to measure upward pressures on your OpEx. Here are the metrics to measure.