人员和技术云和安全同样重要,鱼和熊掌何以兼得?

Executive Summary

云安全性日益成为企业不可或缺的一部分 - 在无安全保障的情况下使用云的企业员工证实了这一点。当您迁移到云时,您需要确定安全性的优先级 — ID 联盟、用户访问策略、WAF、数据访问和保护策略。本文介绍如何做好充足准备,以及可靠的长期移植战略(以防您需要再次迁移)。

Executive Summary

云安全性日益成为企业不可或缺的一部分 - 在无安全保障的情况下使用云的企业员工证实了这一点。当您迁移到云时,您需要确定安全性的优先级 — ID 联盟、用户访问策略、WAF、数据访问和保护策略。本文介绍如何做好充足准备,以及可靠的长期移植战略(以防您需要再次迁移)。

Related

迁移至云后应如何协调用户、流程和技术

云已经成为业务运营中不可或缺的一部分,云安全亦是如此。

将应用迁移到云或采用新的云服务可能是一件喜忧参半的事情。相比纯粹的应用供应商,云服务商所提供的应用在安全性上通常要略胜一筹。然而统计数据表明,员工所用的大多数云应用(预计约为 94.8 %)并不完全是企业级应用,许多公司仍缺少可提高应用安全所需的云策略。

在缺少云策略的企业中,很多员工都习惯使用自己的移动设备和偏爱的服务。由越来越多的移动工作者和不断涌现的各种互联设备(打印机、企业供暖系统、冰箱)所组成的庞大的物联网都是以按需服务的形式在运转,这使得云在工作中的角色更加重要。云端访问安全代理服务商 Netskope 指出,在 2016 年第三季度,平均每家公司员工所使用的 云应用为 1,031 个 。

随着攻击者变得越来越老练,您需要保护自己的云应用,并就如何利用资源提高安全性作出明智的决策。尽管企业对于云安全的关注大多集中在优化应用开发这一阶段,但作为应用和云服务的消费者而非创建者来说,许多公司通常必须在完全不了解内部运作情形的情况下对应用进行保护,即众所周知的“黑盒子”。因此,云端的应用防护也应与保护本地设备的方式类似。

1,031

平均每家公司员工所使用的 云应用为 1,031 个。

提高云端安全性的三个基本步骤:

1.全面了解情况

正如企业需要了解其基础设施的情况一样,安全团队也应该全面了解所有云服务的使用和安全情况,不仅需要了解员工是如何访问云服务的,还需要知道哪些员工正在访问它们。

应该充分利用云供应商所提供的所有日志记录功能。在云基础架构的防护信息方面,云供应商应该保持透明原则,提供有关的安全控制的信息。

2.加密所有数据和身份验证信息

应用中保存的业务数据以及访问这些应用所需的数据(如身份验证信息)对于云迁移来说愈发重要。

网络罪犯正在利用数据中心内应用与云端应用之间的不一致性,将拥有多个身份的员工甚至应用本身作为攻击对象。了解如何保护您的业务。

同样的数据也可能受到法律隐私条款的约束,例如将于 2018 年启动的欧盟一般数据保护条例。因此,确保所有数据都安全加密至关重要。

由于远程访问云服务是新常态,存储在云中数据的安全性也依赖于可识别用户的能力。安全团队不应怀疑任何一个通过正确授权证书访问的用户。除此以外,双重身份验证、异常检测和登陆的地理位置等其他身份验证环节都可以使云服务的访问更加安全,在确保不会将流程过度复杂时可以使用。

3.创建策略并培训用户

将应用迁移到云端,实际上是为安全团队提供了一个通过外部资源扩展其安全策略的机会(或说是义务)。由于任何一名拥有信用卡的员工都可以部署新的云服务,因此您需要灵活的策略和技术检测出未授权服务——通常我们称之为影子 IT。

无论数据存储在本地还是云端,都应该整体采用相同的身份信息验证策略,尽管遵循相应的法律法规是基础,但企业的在云端不应该仅仅只达到合规标准,应用的安全性同样举足轻重。

您可能还会喜欢

People & TechnologyCloud First also means Security First—here are steps for getting there

Executive Summary

Cloud security is ever-increasingly becoming an inescapable part of business—the employees of enterprises using the cloud without security are ensuring it. When you move to the cloud, you need to prioritize security—ID federation, user access policies, WAF, data access and protection policies. This article is about the state of the art of preparation, as well as a solid long-term strategy for portability in case you have to move again.

Executive Summary

Cloud security is ever-increasingly becoming an inescapable part of business—the employees of enterprises using the cloud without security are ensuring it. When you move to the cloud, you need to prioritize security—ID federation, user access policies, WAF, data access and protection policies. This article is about the state of the art of preparation, as well as a solid long-term strategy for portability in case you have to move again.

The cloud has become an inescapable part of doing business—and so has cloud security.

Moving an application to the cloud or adopting a new cloud service can be a mixed blessing. For the most part, cloud service providers tend to make their applications more secure than an individual company’s security team would. However, statistics suggest most cloud applications used by employees—an estimated 94.8 percent—are not entirely enterprise-ready. Many companies lack the policies they need to be as secure as possible.

The ranks of enterprises with no cloud policies are rife with employees bringing in their own mobile devices and using their preferred services. An increasingly mobile workforce and the emergence of connected business devices, from printers to your company’s heating system to the break room refrigerator—the Internet of Things—are powered by on-demand services, making the cloud even more important at work. According to the cloud access security broker Netskope, in the third quarter of 2016, the average company had 1,031 cloud applications being used by employees.

With attackers becoming more sophisticated, you need to secure your cloud applications and make smart decisions about how to spend resources on security. While much of the focus on cloud security is on better development practices by app creators, for many companies that are consumers of apps and cloud services—and not creators—the applications often must be secured with zero visibility into their inner workings: the proverbial “black box.” For that reason, securing apps in the cloud should be treated much like securing on-premises devices.

1,031

One thousand thirty-one cloud applications are being used by employees at the average enterprise.

Here are three basic steps to extending your security in the cloud:

1. Get visibility

Just as a business needs to be aware of what is going on with its own infrastructure, your security teams should also have visibility into the use and security of any cloud services. You need to know not only how employees are accessing cloud services, but which employees are accessing them.

You should take advantage of all the logging functionality offered by your cloud provider. Your provider should also be transparent in how it secures its infrastructure and provides information about security controls.

Related

How to orchestrate your people, processes, and technology as you move to the cloud

3 min. read

2. Encrypt all data and identities

Business data kept in applications—and the data needed to access those applications, such as identity—become increasingly important when moved to the cloud.

Cybercriminals are taking advantage of inconsistencies between the data center and the cloud.

Because remote access to cloud services is the new normal, the security of data stored in the cloud also relies on the ability to reliably identify users. Security teams should not assume that a user with the right credentials is authorized. Other authentication processes such as two-factor authentication, anomaly detection, and geolocation can all help make access to cloud services more secure and should be used when they do not overly burden workflow.

Related

Is the cloud an enabler or a disruptor of your digital transformation?

5 min. read

3. Create policies and educate users

Moving applications to the cloud gives security teams the opportunity (some might say obligation) to extend their policies outside the corporate network. Because any employee with a credit card can deploy a new cloud service, you need policies that are flexible and technology that can detect unsanctioned services—more commonly known as shadow IT.

Whether data is stored on premises or in the cloud, the same overall policies should apply. While complying to regulations is an obvious starting point, your cloud policies need to ensure security and not just compliance.

Robert Haynes is a solutions architect with over twenty years experience in IT. Starting at the bottom as a helpdesk analyst, his lackluster career has lead him through UNIX systems administration, backup and storage, and finally application networking. Having supported, designed, and sold complex IT systems across a range of industries and a number of continents, Robert’s focus is always on the practical implementation and real world use of technology. While this may seem utterly at odds with his current role in marketing for F5 Networks, he likes to think that he is primarily employed to bring balance to the Force.

Robert holds a B.Sc. in Applied Biology from the University of Wales College Cardiff, and a certificate in “Avoiding Collisions While Backing and Parking” from the Driving Dynamics Interactive Advanced Driving School, the latter of which has proved considerably more useful than the former.

You Might Also Like

Cloud · 5 min. read

Preserve your flexibility in the cloud

Developers are having a greater impact on how applications are architected, and in many cases, making unilateral choices that are in effect making business decisions for the company. While nearly two-thirds of enterprise IT managers believe they should be the deciding vote in selecting a public cloud service, moving apps to the cloud, or creating a private cloud, business units disagree about 40 percent of the time. CIOs need to manage this.

Business Strategy · 5 min. read

Is the cloud an enabler or a disruptor of your digital transformation?

The cloud offers lots of benefits to employees and consumers, but lots of headaches for IT architects. When it comes to evaluating the impact that cloud will have on your digital transformation, there’s no easy explanation. The answer mostly depends on whom you ask.