安全性物联网:从梦想变为噩梦

Executive Summary

随着每天有越来越多的物联网设备开始上线,来自日益复杂的 IoT 僵尸网络的 DDoS 攻击产生的威胁只会与日俱增。而大多数 IoT 设备在设计时并没有考虑安全性。

Executive Summary

随着每天有越来越多的物联网设备开始上线,来自日益复杂的 IoT 僵尸网络的 DDoS 攻击产生的威胁只会与日俱增。而大多数 IoT 设备在设计时并没有考虑安全性。

Related

为云保驾护航:不可不知的重要事项

我们的威胁研究人员从 2016 年初就开始调查物联网设备的威胁有多大,业界也一直在讨论,成千上万的互联设备是否可能变为破坏力巨大的攻击引擎。我们认为,不法分子已经开始寻找易受攻击的物联网设备,但这方面的数据似乎并不多,那么这一场关于物联网 DDoS 攻击的噩梦是否已经拉开序幕了呢?

2016 年的 DDoS 攻击

2016 年10 月,DNS 提供商 DYN 遭受了来自 Mirai 僵尸网络的攻击,黑客利用成千上万的物联网设备在一夜之间彻底改变了 DDoS 攻击的量级,其攻击流量高达 1.2 Tbps,这也让几个月之前的猜测变成了现实。随着越来越多的物联网设备普及开来,日趋复杂的物联网僵尸网络只会带来越来越大的 DDoS 攻击威胁。

消费类设备已经受到了安全和功能方面的监管,现在是评估其网络安全性的时候了。

2016 年的攻击情形展望未来的攻击趋势

F5 公司的威胁情报研究部门 F5 Labs 将 2016 年 2 月至 7 月之间以物联网设备为攻击载体的攻击所造成的增长进行了研究。威研究人员侦查出了哪些人正在寻找易受攻击的设备、他们是如何利用可控制的设备,以及有哪些新的攻击趋势。

大多数物联网设备在设计时都未考虑安全问题,因此极易成为个人或政府实体的攻击目标。通过使用 Telnet 和 SSH 强力扫描,可轻松识别和攻击使用默认用户名和密码的联网设备。这两种类型的强力扫描数量都在上升,其中 Telnet 扫描相比 2015 年同比增长了 140%。[1] 到目前为止,大部分此类扫描都来自于中国。排名前 1000 的 ASN 威胁制造者名单显示,来自中国的威胁制造者数量居首,其使用 Telnet 扫描的次数超过了后面 19 个国家的数量总和。[2]

F5 Labs 的研究显示,攻击者将把全世界的物联网设备都作为目标。2016 年部分攻击事件的数据显示,尽管受到过攻击的物联网设备仅占全部攻击总数的 0.1%,但从这些僵尸网络可利用设备的数量已体现出攻击者在破坏网站、企业和声誉方面所具备的潜力是前所未有的。[3] 相关分析还表明,他们的攻击的机制正在从强力登录转变为 API 中断。

我们现在怎么办?

受攻击的物联网设备所带来的 DDoS 攻击威胁是一个复杂的问题,没有简单的解决方案,除非物联网设备制造商在设计之初就为产品植入了防御功能,否则攻击者会继续将这些设备作为攻击个体和企业的武器。零售类物联网设备已经受到安全和功能方面的监管,而现在是评估其网络安全性的时候了。然而,严格的法律法规将会压缩制造商本来的利润空间,因此许多国家尚未针对互联设备制定行而有效的安全标准和监管制度。并且,单个国家建立相关法规将起不到任何作用,因为网络攻击者将会受到未制定相关法规国家的保护。

同时,我们需要通过我们知道的唯一有效的方式保护好自己,那就是制定最全面的 DDoS 防护策略,例如混合使用本地防御和云清洗服务。在这个易受攻击的新世界中,DDoS 攻击比以往任何时候都更加简单、更廉价且更具破坏性,因此您需要防护于未然,从而远离威胁。这样,这个全面互联的世界才不会被大量感染的设备所发起的大规模攻击而毁灭。


[1], DDoS 的最新攻击对象:物联网设备(第 1 卷),F5 实验室,2016 年 10 月。
[2] 同上。
[3] 同上。

您可能还会喜欢

SecurityIoT: from dream to nightmare

Executive Summary

With more and more Internet of Things devices coming online every day, the threat of DDoS attacks from increasingly sophisticated IoT botnets is only going to grow. And most IoT devices were not designed with security in mind.

Executive Summary

With more and more Internet of Things devices coming online every day, the threat of DDoS attacks from increasingly sophisticated IoT botnets is only going to grow. And most IoT devices were not designed with security in mind.

In the early days of 2016, our threat researchers started investigating just how big a threat IoT devices could be. There’d been a lot of talk about the potential of thousands of connected devices transformed into an attack engine of devastating power. We believed that bad actors were already intensively looking for vulnerable IoT devices, but there wasn’t much data out there. Was the nightmare of IoT DDoS attacks just that: a bad dream?

Related

Securing your cloud: What you really need to know

5 min. read

DDoS attacks in 2016

Fast-forward to October and the 1.2 Tbps attack against DNS provider DYN from the Mirai botnet, which harnessed hundreds of thousands of IoT devices to fundamentally change the landscape of DDoS attacks overnight. What was speculative just months ago has now become our reality. And with more and more IoT devices coming online every day, the threat of DDoS attacks from increasingly sophisticated IoT botnets is only going to grow.

Consumer devices are already regulated for safety and efficiency; it’s time they’re also evaluated for Internet security.

Related

Keeping your apps secure. You have more options than you think

3 min. read

What 2016 tells us about future attacks

F5’s threat intelligence arm—F5 Labs—examined the growth of IoT devices as an attack vector between February and July of 2016. Threat researchers examined who is looking for vulnerable devices to compromise, how they use them once they are under their control, and what attack trends are emerging.

Most IoT devices were not designed with security in mind, which makes them easy targets for individuals or government entities using Telnet and SSH brute-force scans to identify and compromise vulnerable connected devices that use default usernames and passwords. Both types of brute-force scans are on the rise, with Telnet scans having increased 140 percent year over year from 2015. By far, the majority of this activity is conducted by China. More Telnet scans come out of China than the next 19 countries combined on the top 1000 ASN threat actors list.

F5 Labs research shows that attackers are targeting IoT devices around the world. And while data from some 2016 incidents shows that each compromised IoT device only contributed 0.1 percent to the total attack, the number of devices harnessed by these botnets means that attackers have unprecedented potential to damage websites, organizations, and reputations.  Analysis also shows that their attack mechanisms are evolving from brute force logins to API breaks.

What do we do now?

The threat of DDoS attacks from compromised IoT devices is a complex problem for which there’s no easy solution. These devices will continue to be exploited and used as weapons to attack individuals and businesses until they are properly protected by their manufacturers. Consumer devices are already regulated for safety and efficiency; it’s time they’re also evaluated for Internet security. However, regulation has limited financial benefits for manufacturers, so an effective system of regulatory security standards for connected devices isn’t even on the horizon. And regulations in a single country won’t really help, since Internet attackers are actually protected by borders.

In the meantime, we need to protect ourselves the only way we know how: by putting in place the most comprehensive strategy for mitigating DDoS attacks, such as a mix of both on-premises defenses and cloud-based scrubbing services. In this new world of vulnerability where DDoS attacks are easier, cheaper, and more damaging than ever before, focusing on preemptive protection can help you stay ahead of the threat. That way, the ideal vision of a fully connected world doesn’t become a dystopia of overwhelming attacks launched by armies of infected devices.

You Might Also Like

Business Strategy · 5 min. read

Why moving to the cloud may not save as much as you think

If one of your motivations for moving to the cloud is to save on CapEx, be prepared to measure upward pressures on your OpEx. Here are the metrics to measure.