安全性为何您的安全预算或许会浪费在错误的威胁上

Executive Summary

如果您将大部分安全预算都用来保护网络(而非应用),那么您可能会让公司面临过高的风险。多数公司都根据“传统投资”支出预算,而不是在风险转移时进行转移。因此,已知供应商的现有支出很容易获得批准,在难以定量和向管理层销售的风险不断变化的领域,可能存在投资不足的情况。安全性就是定义公司对风险的接受程度,以便您可以据此证实投资的合理性。

Executive Summary

如果您将大部分安全预算都用来保护网络(而非应用),那么您可能会让公司面临过高的风险。多数公司都根据“传统投资”支出预算,而不是在风险转移时进行转移。因此,已知供应商的现有支出很容易获得批准,在难以定量和向管理层销售的风险不断变化的领域,可能存在投资不足的情况。安全性就是定义公司对风险的接受程度,以便您可以据此证实投资的合理性。

您的 IT 安全预算分配够明智吗?

如果您将大部分安全支出用在网络周边,而牺牲应用安全和身份管理,那么您的比例分配可能不当。

近 25% 的公司指出应用是数据泄露的主要来源,但半数以上企业花费在应用安全上的 IT 预算比例仅为 1% 甚至更少,或者他们根本不知道花费了多少

25%的公司指出应用是数据泄露的主要来源,但半数以上企业 (51%) 花费在应用安全上的 IT 预算比例仅为 1% 甚至更少,或者他们根本不知道花费了多少。近四分之三 (74.5%) 的公司承认其应用安全计划不够成熟。

还有用户身份的问题。根据与您谈论的人,被攻击的身份或许就是数据泄露的最主要原因。

74.5%

近四分之三 (74.5%) 的公司承认其应用安全计划不够成熟

面对这些统计数据,很难相信大多数公司仍将其大部分 IT 安全资金投入网络周边保护上。如果贵公司是这些公司之一,您需要对此给予足够的重视。

您的网络周边可能在很大程度上是虚构的

由于移动设备的兴起和基于云的应用的普及,您的周边可能漏洞百出。您现在有几百个、甚至几千个易受攻击的用户遍布全球,他们在大多数无保护设备上使用众多应用访问您的数据。基于云的应用有多普及?80% 的企业在云中托管应用,20% 的企业计划在今年从云端提供半数以上的应用。到 2018 年,世界各地将有超过 120 亿台移动设备在使用。随着您的应用无处不在,您的用户可以通过任何设备联网,您的传统周边已经不复存在。

那么事实是,身份和访问管理正变得越来越复杂。无论您的应用是在内部、在私有云还是公有云中,或者是软件即服务 (SaaS),它们都需要身份验证。企业平均有 700 个应用在使用。这是官方数字。您的用户会对密码心生厌倦,IT 将会疲于管理身份蔓延和访问问题。

事实上,如果网络犯罪分子发现自己被您的网络阻拦,他们将会欺骗一个易受骗的用户或渗透一个易受攻击的 Web 网络应用。安全的根本性质已发生了变化。

四步重新调整 IT 安全支出

您能怎么做呢?我们将以您按顺序采取以下四个步骤。

Related

四大云盲点

1 步:列出您的保护优先顺序

IT 正式开发或部署的应用相对容易审查,但请务必查看经常被忽视的 SaaS 应用。然后,确定您的员工正在使用的所有影子 IT 应用,并评估其对贵公司的风险。这些都不容易发现。您可以检查您的业务部门,查看 Web 过滤软件的日志,以及审核与 SaaS 提供商签订的法律合同,但这是一个耗费人工的过程。此外,您还应该优先考虑您可以识别的任何应用,并保护那些会让您最易受攻击的应用。

2 步:查看预算是否花费在正确的威胁上

您的 IT 安全资金支出在哪些方面?贵公司可能是朝着正确方向发展的企业之一,但如果您发现您的高级管理层非常关注合规性,以至于错过了与应用和身份扩张相关的最重要的漏洞,那么请开始建立您的案例。记录您的发现,以便您能够识别支出不足或超支的方面。

3 步:就您的发现进行讨论

让高级管理层和董事会了解您的发现,向他们解释在其当前的资金支出与需要保护的方面之间存在差距。提出具体建议,并准备好提出建议投资的成本效益分析,以获得所需的资金。您可能需要投资于身份和访问管理、应用安全管理和高级防火墙解决方案等方面。

4 步:实施控制,并展示您如何管理威胁

记录并跟踪您如何花费所获得的额外资金,同时向董事会和高级管理层提供基于事实的报告,说明工作的进展情况。但即使这样,您仍然可能被攻击,因此请购买网络保险,并与紧急事件响应 (IR) 公司建立合作关系,以便在发生数据泄露时,可以及时采取行动,减少损失。

做出明智的选择

当然,您永远无法全部解决列表中的每一个漏洞。您可能会发现消除一些风险的成本大于与它们共存的成本。向高级领导者表达您的想法,并明确说明您处理所有风险的计划,无论您是否选择规避风险。让他们分担责任,确定在这个全新无边界世界中资金使用的优先次序。

您可能还会喜欢

SecurityWhy your security budget may be focused on the wrong threats

Executive Summary

If you're spending the majority of your security budget to secure your network and not your apps, you may be exposing your business to undue risk. More companies spend based on “traditional investments” rather than shifting as risks shift—so while existing spending with known vendors gets easily approved, there’s the potential for underinvestment in evolving risk areas that are harder to quantify and sell to management. Security is about defining acceptable levels of risk to your business so you’re able to justify spending accordingly.

Executive Summary

If you're spending the majority of your security budget to secure your network and not your apps, you may be exposing your business to undue risk. More companies spend based on “traditional investments” rather than shifting as risks shift—so while existing spending with known vendors gets easily approved, there’s the potential for underinvestment in evolving risk areas that are harder to quantify and sell to management. Security is about defining acceptable levels of risk to your business so you’re able to justify spending accordingly.

Are you allocating your IT security dollars wisely?

If you focus the majority of your security spending on your network perimeter at the expense of app security and identity management, you may not have the proportions right.

More than half of enterprises’ IT budgets spend 1 percent or less on app security.

Nearly 25 percent of companies point to applications as the source of breaches, yet more than half of enterprises (51 percent) either spend 1 percent or less of their IT budgets on app security or they don’t know how much they spend. Almost three-quarters (74.5 percent) of companies admit their app security programs are not mature.

Then there’s the issue of user identities. Depending on whom you talk to, compromised identities are either the number one or number two cause of breaches.

74.5%

Seventy-four and a half percent of companies admit their app security programs are not mature.

In the face of these statistics, it is difficult to believe, but most companies still invest the majority of their IT security dollars in network perimeter protections. If yours is one of those companies, you should be seriously concerned.

Your ‘network perimeter’ may be largely imaginary

Because of the rise in mobile devices and the proliferation of cloud-based apps, your perimeter is likely quite porous. You now have hundreds, perhaps even thousands, of vulnerable users located all over the world, accessing your data using a broad range of apps on mostly unprotected devices. How prevalent are cloud-based apps? Four out of five organizations host applications in the cloud, and 20 percent plan on delivering more than half of their applications from the cloud this year. By 2018, there will be more than 12 billion mobile devices in use around the world. With your apps living anywhere and your users connecting from any device, your traditional perimeter has just exploded.

Then there’s the fact that identity and access management is becoming more complex. Whether your apps live on-premises, in your private or public cloud, or are Software as a Service (SaaS), they all require authentication. The average enterprise has 700 apps in use. And that’s official. Your users have password fatigue, and IT is struggling to manage the identity sprawl and access.

The fact is, if cyber criminals find themselves blocked at your network, they’ll simply phish a gullible user or infiltrate a vulnerable web app. The whole nature of security has changed.

Four steps to refocus your IT security spend

What can you do? Take these four sequential steps.

Step 1. Prioritize what you need to protect

Apps officially developed or deployed by IT are relatively easy to vet, but be sure to check out SaaS apps that are often overlooked. Then, identify all the shadow IT apps that are being used by your employees and assess their risk to your organization. These won’t be easy to find. You can interview your business units, review the logs of your web filtering software, and review legal contracts signed with SaaS providers, but it’s a very manual process. Still, you should prioritize whatever apps you can identify and secure those that make you most vulnerable.

Related

The right (and wrong) ways to spend your security budget

5 min. read

Step 2. Check out alignment between budget and threats

What are you spending your IT security dollars on? Your company may be one of the businesses headed in the right direction, but if you find that your senior management is so focused on compliance that it is missing the most critical vulnerabilities associated with applications and identity sprawl, start building your case. Document your findings so you’ll be able to identify areas of under- or over-spending.

Related

3 ways your apps make you vulnerable

5 min. read

Step 3. Communicate your discoveries

Let senior management and your board know your findings. Explain to them the gaps that exist between what they are spending their money on and what else needs to be protected. Make specific recommendations and be prepared to present a cost-benefit analysis of recommended investments to get the dollars you need. You will likely need to invest in identity and access management, application security management, and advanced firewall solutions.

Related

Identity: the new front line of defense

3 min. read

Step 4. Implement controls, and show how you are managing threats

Document and track how you are spending the extra monies you get, and give fact-based reports to the board and senior management on how well it’s working. There is still the chance that you will get breached, so purchase cyber insurance and put an incidence response (IR) company on retainer to leap into action and reduce your damage should a breach occur.

Pick your battles

Of course, you’ll never be able to address each and every vulnerability on your list. You may decide that the cost to eliminate some risks is greater than the cost of living with them. Communicate your thoughts to senior leaders, and clearly lay out your plans for dealing with all risks—whether you choose to mitigate them or not. Let them share responsibility for prioritizing how the money is spent in this new perimeter-less world.

Alice LaPlante is an award-winning and best-selling American author of numerous books, including A Circle of Wives and The New York Times bestseller Turn of Mind, which was the winner of the Wellcome Trust’s Book Prize and a B&N Discover Award finalist. She was a Wallace Stegner Fellow and a Jones Lecturer at Stanford University, and taught creative writing at both Stanford and San Francisco State University. She has written for Forbes ASAP, BusinessWeek, ComputerWorld, InformationWeek, and Discover. Her corporate clients include some of the best-known brands in the technology industry, including IBM, Microsoft, Oracle, Symantec, Deloitte, and HP.

You Might Also Like

Business Strategy · 5 min. read

Why moving to the cloud may not save as much as you think

If one of your motivations for moving to the cloud is to save on CapEx, be prepared to measure upward pressures on your OpEx. Here are the metrics to measure.

Business Strategy · 5 min. read

The ROI of moving to the cloud: Have you balanced your cloud checkbook?

There’s potentially a gulf of pain between using cloud services and successfully using cloud services. How will you know if you’re being successful? You need the metrics that match your priorities: agility, TCO, reach and productivity.